GOLF103

1にコースで2に道具,3・4が理屈で,5にスコア。とうそぶいていたものの,レッスンうけてスイングが良くなったらスコアへの欲が復活しました。

ジャスティン・ローズの2打罰について@プレーヤーズ選手権 // PGATour.com

プレーヤーズ選手権の3日目,グリーン脇からのアプローチショットの前にボールが動いたとかで2打罰となっていたジャスティン・ローズでしたが,その後判定がくつがえり,当該案件についてはノーペナルティとなったようです。その件について,PGA Tour がステートメントを発表していたので,自らの勉強のために訳してみます。

f:id:golf103:20180114181438j:plain

PGA TOUR statement on Justin Rose - PGATour.com
http://www.pgatour.com/news/2014/05/11/pga-tour-statement-on-justin-rose.html

After further review of the 2-stroke penalty given to Justin Rose during the third round of THE PLAYERS Championship for a violation of Rule 18-2B and subsequent failure to replace the ball in the original place, the PGA TOUR Rules Committee has rescinded the penalty with Rose, who now enters the final round at 7-under-par. He will remain in his original pairing at 12:35 with Brian Stuard.

プレーヤーズ選手権の第3ラウンド中にジャスティン・ローズに対して課された2打罰(規則18-2Bの違反,およびその後ボールをもとの場所にリプレースしなかったことによる)についてさらに検討を加えた結果,PGA Tour のルール委員会は,最終ラウンドを7アンダーパーで迎えたローズに対して課したペナルティを取り消すこととした。最終ラウンドのティーオフおよびペアリング(12:35,ブライアン・スチュアードと)に変更はない。

At the time of the review immediately following Rose’s round, in which Rose participated, it was thought that Decision 18/4 (Television Evidence Shows Ball at Rest Changed Position But by Amount Not Reasonably Discernible to Naked Eye) a copy of which is attached, was not applicable because the review of the footage shown in the telecast showed that the ball may have moved in a way that was discernable to the naked eye and when viewing the incident with Rose in the television compound, it was confirmed that the ball did in fact move very slightly. Thus, at the time, the Rules Committee deemed that the ball had moved in a manner that was reasonably discernable to the naked eye. The Committee, therefore, assessed the general penalty under Rule 18 of two strokes.

ローズのラウンド直後におこなわれた検証にはローズも加わったが,そこでは,映像も提供されたものの,テレビ映像ではボールがかすかに動いたかのように見えるがその程度は肉眼では識別できず,Decision 18/4は適用されなかった。しかし,テレビブースでローズとともに検証した際,ボールは確かに非常にわずかではあるが動いたことが確認された。こうして,その時点で,ボールは確かに肉眼で識別できるかたちで動いたと,ルール委員会はみなした。

Overnight, given the fact that Decision 18/4 had been implemented in January of 2014, yet had not been utilized in PGA TOUR competition, the Rules Committee reopened the incident and focused on how much the use of sophisticated technology played a part in making the original ruling. After that review, it was determined that the only way to confirm whether and how much the ball had in fact changed position, was to utilize sophisticated technology.

一夜明け,Decision 18/4 は2014年1月に導入されたものの PGA Tour の大会ではまだ適用されていないことを鑑み,ルール委員会は再び当該事項について再検討し,最新のテクノロジーがオリジナルのルールの作成に際してどの程度の役割を果たしているかについて焦点を当てた。その再検討の結果,実際にボールが動いたか否か,およびどの程度動いたかについて確認できる唯一の方法は,最新のテクノロジーを用いることであることが認められた。

This morning, after consulting with the governing bodies and PGA TOUR Commissioner Tim Finchem, it was determined that without the use of sophisticated technology, it was not reasonably discernable to the naked eye that the ball had left its original position and had come to rest in its original place. Thus, the player’s determination that the ball had not moved was deemed to be conclusive and the penalty does not apply in this situation. Having reached this decision, the Committee immediately notified Rose and rescinded the 2-stroke penalty.

今朝,PGA Tour の運営組織および PGA Tour コミッショナーの Tim Finchem と協議をした結果,最新のテクノロジーを用いることなく肉眼でボールの位置が動いたことを合理的に識別できる手立てはなかったことが確認された。この結果,ボールは動かなかったというプレーヤーの決定は最終的なものであり,当該状況に対してペナルティーは適用されないことが決定された。この決定を受け,ルール委員会は即座にローズにその旨を伝え,2打罰を取り消した。

Decision 18/4: Television Evidence Shows Ball at Rest Changed Position But by Amount Not Reasonably Discernible to Naked Eye

Decision 18/4:テレビ映像によりボールが動いたが,その程度は肉眼では合理的には識別できなかった場合

Q. A player addresses his ball. He observes a slight motion of the ball but believes that it has only oscillated and has not left its original position. He therefore plays the ball as it lies. Later, the Committee becomes aware from television evidence that the ball had in fact left its position and come to rest in another place, although that change of position was such that it was not reasonably discernible to the naked eye at the time of the incident. What is the ruling?
  1. プレーヤーがボールにアドレスした。そのプレーヤーはボールがかすかに動いたと思ったが,それはかつかにぐらついたにすぎず,もとの位置からは動いていないと確信している。プレーヤーはそれゆえ,そのままの位置からプレーをした。のちに,委員会はテレビの映像の証拠により,そのボールは実際に元の位置か別の位置に動いたこと,だが当該状況が発生した時点ではその動いた程度は肉眼では合理的に識別できるほどではないことを認識した。この場合の規則は?
  2. The ball is deemed not to have moved and therefore there is no penalty under Rule 18-2b. The Definition of "Moved" – when a ball "leaves its position and comes to rest in any other place" – does not contemplate movements of the ball that are only discernible through the use of high definition television or any other form of sophisticated technology.
  3. そのボールは動いていないと見なされ,それゆえ規則18-2bのさだめるペナルティは課されない。「(ボールが)動いた」の定義(すなわちボールが「もとの位置を離れて他の場所にとどまる」)は,高解像度のテレビやその他の最新鋭のテクノロジーの使用を通じてのみ認識できるボールの動きを予期したものではない。
When determining whether or not his ball at rest has moved, a player must make that judgment based on all the information readily available to him at the time, so that he can determine whether the ball must be replaced under Rule 18-2b or another applicable Rule. When the player's ball has left its original position and come to rest in another place by an amount that was not reasonably discernible to the naked eye at the time, a player's determination that the ball has not moved will be deemed to be conclusive, even if that determination is later shown to be incorrect through the use of sophisticated technology.

ボールが動いたか否かを決める際,プレーヤーはその時点で自らがただちに入手できるすべての情報をもとに判断をくだし,規則18-2bないしその他適用されるべきルールにもとづいてボールをリプレースすべきか否かを判断しなければならない。そのプレーヤーのボールが元の場所を離れて他の場所にとどまっても,その動いた度合いがその時点で肉眼では適切に認識できないような場合,ボールは動かなかったというプレーヤーの判断が,その判断が最先端のテクノロジーの使用によって間違っていたとのちに判明したとしても,最終的な結論とみなされる。

On the other hand, if the Committee determines, based on all of the evidence it has available, that the ball changed its position by an amount that was reasonably discernible to the naked eye at the time, the ball is deemed to have moved. As the player did not replace the ball, he incurs a penalty under the applicable Rule and Rule 20-7c for playing from a wrong place.

一方,委員会が,入手可能なすべての証拠に基づいて,そのボールが肉眼でまちがいなく認識できる程度にその位置を変えたと決定した場合,ボールは動いたと見なされる。プレーヤーがボールをリプレースしなければ,適用されるべきルールおよび誤所からのプレーについて定めた規則20-7cにもとづいて,そのプレーヤーにはペナルティが課される。

These principles apply to any review of technological evidence by the Committee, whether before the player makes his next stroke or any time thereafter. These principles also apply in a situation in which the player made no determination whether or not his ball at rest moved (e.g., because he had walked away from his ball after addressing it, was not looking at his ball, or otherwise did not observe any motion of the ball or have any reason to believe that his ball might have moved).

これらの原則は,当該プレーヤーが次のストロークをする前かあるいはその後いずれかの時点かにかかわらず,委員会によるテクノロジーを用いた証拠のあらゆる検証にたいして適用される。これら原則はまた,ボールが動いたか否かに関してプレーヤーが決定をくださなかった状況に対して適用される。

Before determining whether his ball has moved, it is advisable for the player to obtain information from nearby witnesses to the incident and to seek guidance from a referee if one is immediately available.

ボールが動いたか否かを決定する前に,プレーヤーは当該状況に対して近くから見ていた人から情報を得るか,可能であれば近くにいるレフェリーからの支持を求めることが望ましい。